Unlimited access >

I have a grouchy mare and need help.

I recently started riding a lovely 7 year old TB mare. When riding in the ring by herself she’s absolute perfection. Add one or two other horses and she’s alright. Add more than three horses… watch out.

For shows: red ribbon in her tail!

Lol of course! I honestly just need to paint her red…

Sounds like a training issue to me,you need to get her attention on you and not put up with the behaviour period.

Have a gelding who if given the chance will charge another horse when under saddle,will attempt to kick. He won’t dare do either now he gets a good what for and how too. He knows he CAN"T act out period!!

The reason your horse “gets along” with the alpha mare in the field is that alpha mare has told her to behave herself, and they have worked out their relative hierarchies. She doesn’t “dislike” the other horses, she just feels she needs to be sorting out her status in relation to them at every minute. Very much a mare thing.

I also ride a mare that can be over-reactive to horses in the ring. I find that this disappears when I have her full attention, but is a major problem if I don’t. When I have her full attention, she does exactly what I ask, will trot circles around the lesson horses, etc. If I don’t have her full attention, she gets pissy, balky, and also does other naughty things unrelated to other horses.

As a boss mare, I think she feels she needs to be paying social attention to the other horses, just as if she were in a pasture. But when I am riding her, she needs to understand that I make the decisions, and that she is not free to socialize, and that she doesn’t get to make the decisions. I will keep her safe from the other horses and she doesn’t need to think about it.

Kinda like getting the little girls in class to stop whispering and hitting each other, and have them all focus on the teacher.