Unlimited access >

Suggestions to make money as a junior

I am a junior rider, but I have been riding for almost 11 years, jumping for 6. I need money by the end of the summer, as I applied to my dream private boarding school and got a $25,000 riding scholarship but unfortunately it still is not enough to cover the $50,000 more needed. I have been wanting to go to this school forever and would literally sell my soul to go. My parents suggested leasing out my horse and using the money we made from that to pay, but I would love to take my mare. She is my Junior Hunter and we have been very successful together, and I would hate a year wasted of her life as shes already almost 15 and I don’t know how much longer she can show for, and I would lose all my progress I’ve made with her. Leasing my horse out is honestly a last resort option.

I was thinking of doing project horses, as I have a barn and arena at my house, and maybe buying and selling OTTBs with the help of my trainer could make some money.

Instructing could also be a possible option, as where I live there are zero hunter/jumper barns and only rodeo. I know most of the rodeo girls and lots of them always want to try English, but the only lesson barns here offer western.

Another option could be a groom, exercise rider, or braider, and travel to shows this summer, but I’m not 100% sure because my trainer has a small program and doesn’t go to many rated shows. I would be open to working with any barn though.

I am very experienced around horses, and I take care of my horses at my house all by myself. I know how to feed, groom, tack up, clean stalls, drag the arena, turn out, blanket, wrap, pull manes, pretty much everything, although I need more practice in braiding and clipping. I also have ridden many horses and have experience in riding and training. I think I am pretty good at instructing, but I can’t really “practice” that.