Unlimited access >

17yr maiden mare, scan not preg, but no further heats???

[h=2]​​​​So this is my first attempt at breeding as I have a mare with very old lines which a group of us are trying to preserve (old pure polish). As an older maiden mare it’s of course going to be more potentially challenging. She had a health check prior and was top notch but no, I didn’t have her ultrasounded because I’d have to have hauled her a long way to clinic to have it done, and she’s a nervous hauler so I didn’t want to stress her. Obviously I should have.[/h] Anyway, she’s always cycled normally before, she was sent to an experienced stallion/farm well in advance to settle in, etc. She was bred twice June 19 and 21 2017. Scan 16 days later shows not pregnant, and one of her ovaries is barely visible and likely not producing well or at all??. The other had an ok folicles, but apparently smaller than one expect. Per Experienced vet that visits said farm often.
So I left my mare there knowing she should come into heat again shortly and we’ll try again. But she DOESN’T.
​​​​​​Shes home again now, has been for a week, and hasn’t show any signs of heat since covered. Not interested in my new yearling stud colt (though he doesn’t know how to do anything yet, my other pony mares will squat and pee in front of him when they are in heat).
I will keep introducing her to the colt to try and get a reaction once a week, just in case she suddenly shows a heat, but in the meantime… WTH?!
Has anyone had a similar experience? What happened?
I know it’s likely a real long shot that she took, but I don’t understand the lack of heats after cover. Can anyone explain why that might be? I know it is starting to get later into the season, but she should keep having heats for a few more months.
I’d love to hear any thoughts, stories, science, etc! Thanks!!