Unlimited access >

1990 4Star 6 Horse Head to Head with an I-Beam that needs repairing. Is it worth it?

Wanted thoughts about purchasing a 1990 4 star 6 horse head to head all aluminum. Trailer is in good shape EXCEPT. An I-Beam in between the two tires has a giant crack right by the bolts. So my question is. Is this something that can be fixed? Is it worth it? and once repaired is it safe? I’m located in GA so if it was possible to fix would have to find someone close to North West GA

This is such an important question, I think I’d photograph it (if possible) and take it --the picture- to a professional. Ideally, a pro should look at the trailer. I should think that any place that fixes semi-trailers or flatbeds would be able to give you an expert opinion. I have limited knowledge of metal, but since it is almost 30 years old, I’d wonder about the integrity of the rest of the support metal. Secondly you refer to the trailer as “all aluminum,” does that mean the I beam is aluminium? Welding aluminum is more of a challenge (I’m told) than steel. JMHO.

I agree with Foxglove totally. This requires expert opinion because of the nature of the issue and the expertise required for repair.

Depends on the asking price. This is not necessarily a difficult nor expensive repair. The “beam” may or may not need to be replaced. I doubt the ‘frame’ chassis is constructed with aluminum. All aluminum generally refers to the body and interior parts which cuts down on weight significantly.

As foxglove said if you can get a good picture of the damage and take it to a trailer repair shop they should be able to give you an estimate. They may also say that without looking at the trailer it would be difficult to give an accurate ball park number. There maybe other issues that can’t be easily seen without “opening up the can of worms” to see how many are in it. Kind of like old house renovations.