Unlimited access >

AA Coaching/Instruction for Novice Riders?

I’m 19 years old. I’ve been riding for close to a decade, mostly on the AQHA circuit. I’ve ridden AQHA and APHA World Champions and Congress Champs, but I’ve never done anything over fences. My parents always forbid me from jumping: no H/J, no eventing. Now that I’m an adult (haha), I want to start taking jumping lessons!

I know that I’m a novice, obviously, and I want to form a solid foundation by starting with and mastering the basics… but am I delusional in wanting to start lessons under someone who is at or near the top levels of the sport? Does anyone know of an AA barns/coaches that are willing to take on novices (not beginners)? I’m located in FL, so I imagine it shouldn’t be too difficult. I’m also willing to travel.

Would I have better luck applying for working student positions? (Or do I need more experience over fences, first?)

I like to think myself a serious rider and, if possible, I’d like to avoid having to unlearn mediocre/problematic instruction later on down the road (like I’ve had to do in the past), by starting out on the right foot.

You will possibly find that if you sign up with one of the top trainers programs you will more than likely be working with an assistant. These people are generally pretty good themselves so still a good choice. As a complete over fences beginner, you can probably find a number of not BNT in your area that can give you the basics and a great start so don’t count them out just because they are not BNT. Do your research by watching lessons and asking questions. Working student positions can be tricky because in many cases you are a barn slave and don’t get the riding time you desire. Again, research and talk to others who have had the experience.