Unlimited access >

About Bills of Sale

I’m a bit of a newbie horse gal in many ways. My mare, Holly, is the first I’ve bought just on my own with no SO involved.

There’s something that occurred while I was making the purchase that I’ve been wondering about. The seller had been in the “horse biz” for some time, knew my situation and seemed okay with it. After I paid her, she filled out all the breed registration papers so they were signed off, but didn’t offer a bill of sale. She seemed hesitant to do that when I told her I wanted one, and I had to push the issue to get it from her. She wrote it on a slip of paper, and then I had to remind her to sign it. Then date it.

Is there any reason why she would not have wanted to provide a bill of sale? With the registration papers signed off was it really needed? I’ve been having trouble figuring this out for some months, so I’m now asking you folks. Any ideas?

That’s odd to me. I’ve never had an interaction, even a rehome situation where no funds were exchanged, where we didn’t do a BOS. You need something to prove change in ownership. Papers with a registry aren’t really proof IME. I’m not an expert though.

Even when doing a rehome, we do BOS for a dollar.

Listen, as many problems as other people have had, ESPECIALLY with horses going to new owners or being stolen, don’t EVER have a transaction without a bill of sale. It can mean nothing or it can mean everything. Makes me wonder if there were issues in the background you were unaware of.

I can’t think of a reason an honest seller wouldn’t give a bill of sale. Good for you for insisting!

I think some breed registries consider the papers proof of ownership, but not all do (many just dont want to get involved in what can happen when things don’t go well). A BOS is never a bad idea.

Transfer of registration papers in some breeds double as a bill of sale. Others do not.