ACL tears

I’m very bummed. Wednesday night I got on my mare who has a history of being cold backed. I had not had an issue with her acting up during mounting in 2 years. I lunged her (but clearly not long enough). Got on, took two steps away from the mounting block and she started getting humpy backed. So I hopped off. Pushed off a bit to hard and landed on my right leg only tearing my ACL in the process.

When to the orthopedist and he’s 100% sure ACL is torn, but wants an MRI to check meniscus. If meniscus is torn he’ll fix both at the same time right away. If it’s just an ACL he wants to see what 90 days of rehab will do and only will consider surgery if it’s still unstable.

I’m beyond upset. I’m an equine vet and it’s going to make working ridiculously tough. Every time I think of one more thing I won’t be able to do for a while I’m more bummed. Stupid stuff like flexion tests, paring out an abscess, getting out of the way of a naughty horse.

I’m not sure what I’m asking…I guess people’s experience with not doing surgery…how long till it feels a little more stable? How was riding after? What do I do with my TB mare for the next 3-6 months? How do I trust her again? Maybe I’m just looking for sympathy from strangers;)

I tore my ACL and meniscus July 2, 2014 had surgery July 30. I am beyond bored and pissed. I am looking for someone to part lease my 7 year old OTTB who is going very well now, I had planned to spend the summer riding him. I have 4-6 month of rehab before riding. I am in a large brace that I can only wear yoga pants under, cannot drive so work at the office is tough but I did promise to be in the office all next week to help another project manager.

Not sure what to say, my ACL was a complete tear so no other option beyond surgery. Sorry, one of my vets had the same thing happen and she is two months into her rehab and yes, struggling with handling horses for lamness issues. She is primarily a lamness vet.