Unlimited access >

Adjustable jump saddles

I have a young connemara/tb that is coming five. It looks like my dressage saddle is going to work okay for him, so I was wondering about people’s experiences with adjustable jump saddles. I didn’t think my Albion dressage was going to work, so I got a Thorowgood T8 GP compact. It’s nice and comfortable, but I’m thinking for strictly jumping getting one of the jump models would be preferable. What are people’s experiences with the T8 or Kent & Masters jump saddles? I have had plenty of experience with high-end and custom jump saddles, but with horses changing and changing horses, they don’t make sense right now. I may go for an “adjustable” Albion K2 at some point.

1 Like

I’m riding in an original K&M jump saddle (MJU) that I’ve had on trial for about a month now and I really like it. I don’t feel perched in it, or trapped by blocks or padding, but it’s comfortable and secure. It doesn’t have the soft, grippy leather the French saddles do, but the quality is good for the cost. K&M hasn’t made this saddle in a while and this one looks new. I don’t know how much use it’s truly had, but it’s in excellent shape. I was looking for a jump saddle with a front gusset without breaking the bank, and I think this is the only saddle in this price range that offers them as a standard option. I hadn’t really heard of them before, but I’m impressed with the saddle for the cost.

You can still find some of the original jumps around. I think I have a few still.

What is the difference?

The tree is different. So it fits different horses.

The Albion “Adjustatree” requires a saddler to adjust it, you can’t do it yourself. I don’t see the difference between that and most other spring steel trees. Most spring steel trees of any brand can be adjusted in a tree press.