Unlimited access >

Advice, opinions on sales horse marketing

Hi, everyone! I’m a younger industry professional (mid twenties) who is starting her own horse sales business, and I wanted to get advice on selling and marketing, especially what people look for in a good sales ad. I want it all - the good, the bad, the ugly.

About me: I’ve had trouble finding my “niche” in the horse world - have dabbled in giving lessons, taking client horses, problem horses, colt-starting, assistant trainer/coach positions, etc etc, - and finally flourished the past year working at a consignment sales barn in which I was given a lot of freedom in designing the tune-up regimen and training program for each horse. The business owner was really impressed with my work and even gave me a raise on my hourly wage after 90 days and bonuses on certain horses, without me ever bringing up money to her. I really got the hang of the training process, even designed a rubric for evaluating incoming horses and an objectives checklist for determining if a horse was ready to be videoed. After the last horse I trained for that barn came out particularly well (we pulled off some neat bridleless stunts for the video) I landed a private investor who wants to help finance me starting my own sales business…

Excellence and honesty are everything, and I want to represent the horses I train and sell as best as possible, in order for them to find the right homes. This is where you guys come in. I want to know what you love in a horse ad, what you hate in a horse ad, what makes you want to come back and buy from that seller again, what turns you off.

Here are some prompts:

How long should a sales video be? What do you want to see in it? What annoys you in a video? Do you like compilation videos that show an overview of the horse’s skills and attributes?

What makes an ad stand out as professional? What gives you the feeling of “they’re trying too hard?”