Unlimited access >

Affording a Horse in College

Hi!
I am a college freshman and I have had horses most of my life, but do not currently. I am thinking through the idea of getting another horse this spring, because I would love to be able to ride on a regular basis again and have my horse nearby.

So, I am looking for advise from people who have gone to college and payed for a horse through it. I would not be solely responsible for all costs, but most.
I am used to showing pretty much every weekend during the summer but I realize that I will definitely not be able to do that, which is ok. I am hoping I would be able to maybe show once a month.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

This isn’t the answer you’re going to want.

But I’m going to put on my wise elder hat and say: don’t do it.

It’s not worth it.

Yes, I did it. And it was hard. It was nice to have the horse, of course, but it was still hard. And your major is much, much more difficult than mine was. I know a nursing professor, and 25% of the freshmen don’t come back to the major sophomore year.

Looking back, a few years out, I regret missing out on things that I would have otherwise done if I hadn’t had the horse. Like going abroad for a semester.

Stick with lessons, and put what would have been your monthly board money into a savings account instead. Trust me, you’ll want it when you get out of school, whether you spend it all on a really nice horse, or use it to get your life started.

My advice is don’t do it. You will always have horses, college is a once in a lifetime experience.

Enjoy this time. Socialize someplace other then a barn. Try new things. You will be happy you did.

Is it possible to do the horse thing while you’re at school? Sure. But open yourself up to a different lifestyle for a while.

Don’t underestimate how busy and stressful school is going to be. It can leave very little time for a horse.