Unlimited access >

Am I dumb or do I need a thicker skin?

I was at the barn very much minding my own business and schooling the horse (Daisy) of a friend’s daughter. After warming Daisy up, I decided I needed a different pair of spurs as I had borrowed a pair and they weren’t sitting properly. When I went to get back on, Daisy didn’t want to stand still at the mounting block and pulled out the good old swing the butt out when you want to mount trick. Now I’ve a few years of experience with horses, and I’ve always found the best way to deal with these habits is patience and perseverance—little tap on the hindquarters and praise/release when she stands still. However, I was not alone in the arena and the other rider felt the need to butt in and tell me that I’m screwing up the horse and that she’s learning she can do whatever she wants. This other rider then proceeded to tell her daughter who was watching from the side to hold Daisy while I mount because I obviously don’t know what I’m doing and won’t ask for help when I clearly need it. I was a bit dumbstruck and don’t do well with confrontation so I just said sure whatever hold her. This rider then proceeds to tell me that I should be taking lessons and not riding other people’s horses if I’m that inexperienced. Second opinions, anyone? Did I actually do something wrong here or should I have told her to find someone else to criticize?

2 Likes

You were handling it correctly. Even if you hadn’t been handling it correctly, as long as it was not a dangerous situation for you, her, or either horse, it is none of her business.

39 Likes

You are non-confrontational.

You are neither dumb or need a thicker skin. You need a bigger mouth. It does come with age or at least it did for me.

People like that just need to be told to STFU. Their advice is unneeded and unwarranted. Many different roads to Rome.

50 Likes