Unlimited access >

Analyzing correct basics vs incorrect basics and the impact judging has on evolution of modern dressage competition

7 Likes

I went last year to listen to Anja Beran to exactly this lecture “schooling the eye” ( I admit I did because it was close to my home and it was free) and I agree with every word in this article
Because I show I wasn’t too impressed with Anja Beran in the past because she never goes to any shows. But the lecture made a big impression on me!!!

8 Likes

Trafalgar Square sells the lecture as a DVD and I believe it’s also on wehorse.com, both in English

6 Likes

That was a very interesting article. I’m new to dressage, so I was interested in what she had to say. I wish the video could be translated to English.

1 Like

I watched a little of this, wishing, really wishing, that I understood German.

I have a feeling that I will be agreeing with her a lot when I finally can understand her words.

2 Likes

English clip from the lecture https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJNTgiOwyok

Looks like you can get a free 7 day trial to wehorse.com and watch the full lecture, again in English (I highly recommend, I have the DVD):
https://www.wehorse.com/en/blog/train-your-eye-to-recognize-good-and-horse-friendly-training/

4 Likes

I so so highly recommend Anja’s video The Art of Classical Dressage Training and specifically the one with the Special addition called Flamingo - a Westphalian gelding. They show you a young horse broken by being started so hard and rushed so fast and demonstrate a rehab that took a year.

They start out with no contact and over time, with back strength, bring him back into collection and it is amazing. Their incredible riding (it’s other women that Anja) and their softness and slow slow asking of the horse as they bring him back.

And here he was later in the rehab: