Unlimited access >

Andy Kocher auction

Are they (semi) legit? Seems like the horses go for good prices. I really like one in this upcoming auction, thoughts??

My guess would be he is trying to sell what he has to generate money so maybe a good buy here and there. But I don’t know :woman_shrugging:

I don’t think my conscience would allow me to buy anything that has his name attached to it. Good buy or not.

12 Likes

I have no personal experience with the auction, but there was a thread on horseshowdiva (which still looks to be down) during his first auction. From what I remember at the time, it claimed Andy and his associates were often the only bidders on most of the horses and/or were bidding up the prices. I think initially they actually used usernames directly identifying themselves before they got smarter and used more generalized names. I would just suggest doing your research.

2 Likes

It also might be worth considering how much time a horse purchased there might need in order to settle down and relax, depending on the training methods used.

8 Likes

Last year I tried two horses at his barn. I figured maybe I was getting a horse out of a bad situation. Both of them felt moderately unsound. When it came time to jump, they had to move all the jumps because everything was set on a trappy stride…including the triple combination… on a half stride… :anguished:.

I would pass personally.

6 Likes

A combination on the half stride isn’t unheard of at all at the level and height some of his horses school.

But, there are plenty of other reasons to be wary at best.

3 Likes

I’m kind of new to the horse world and I’m not up to date on everything but who’s andy kocher? Why would his horses be badly trained if he’s competing at such a high level?

@DollyDoll
Andy is under investigation by the FEI for allegedly using illegal and abusive artificial aids. For example, electrified spurs that he could activate with a button held in his hand while riding.