Unlimited access >

Animal Rescues -- Is It Just Me?

Is it just me, or do you wish that animal rescues would be as good at acknowledging donations as they are at asking for more and more?

I’ve been donating to two local rescues for several months now and they never acknowledge any donations. I know donating is not about being thanked, but I felt frustrated this morning when I logged onto one site to see them asking again for one particular type of item I had just sent them last week and wouldn’t have known they’d received it if not for Amazon’s delivery update. Yes, I know Amazon’s delivery “updates” can be about shipments delivered to the wrong recipient.

But do you like knowing that things you’ve donated were actually received by the right rescue and are useful?

It’s easier to just do it anonymously, dropping food into the donation bins at the grocery store. But that’s only for food, not for other needed items.

Sigh.

4 Likes

Meh, I don’t expect thanks or acknowledgement when I donate. IMO Anything personalized would be a waste of time and resources. Anything generic is irritating like junk mail.
Other than old towels and blankets I just donate money to rescues that I trust. It might be selfish, but by donating money I get a receipt for tax purposes. Win - Win.

1 Like

I don’t expect personal thanks, but (I’ve been trying to beat this into some heads on the boards that I am on) I do think that people want to know whether or not, and to what extant, a fundraiser drive was successful. Don’t just send out mass bulletins about ‘we need food!!’ also send out mass bulletins ‘because of your help we have gotten x amount of food which has feed y for z weeks!’ Emails are very, very cheap as is social media.
Now, if your fundraiser is the sort that has personalized, hand written, letters expecting big requests (in the thousands say?), those personalized requests had better be followed by immediate personalized thank yous.

9 Likes