Another epilepsy thread, but I'm new to this all

Sorry to beat a dead horse, but I didn’t want to hijack the other threads.

As most of you know, in September I had a TBI from a fall on cross country. My recovery has been awesome, but a little more than a week ago I had my first seizure. It was not a grand mal - in fact, none of them have been, but I did lose a degree of consciousness and total loss of control over my body.

Needless to say, I am of the opinion that this pretty much sucks. I’m still very much in limbo land, waiting to get into see a neurologist (my care after the TBI was very disorganized and I never settled with a neuro, but now I have a referral to one of the best in town), but I’m just trying to figure out how to live life with seizures. I have spent the last four months figuring out how to live with a TBI, and I’ve done a really great job of that I think, but this is completely unexpected, especially given that my TBI was on the mild side of a moderate injury - not something usually associated with the development of post-traumatic epilepsy.

So how do you adjust to life? The prospect of losing my license is horrifying. To say that I am independent would be the understatement of the century - my tag line with my friends is “I don’t need you” whenever they try to offer help :slight_smile: So losing my license while I live alone 45 minutes from my parents in an area of shotty public transit that doesn’t service my barn?! Unthinkable. But of course I wouldn’t want to have a seizure while driving and put other people at risk, its just that my seizures have never come without warning while I am fully alert, and 90% of them have happened late at night while I am very tired. So I still drive only if I know I can do it safely.