Unlimited access >

(another) re-rider thread

hi guys! i’m a 31 year old female who started back riding after not having been riding since probably around early high school years. during my more formidable riding years, i took lessons two to three times a week, did summer camps, all the local schooling shows, etc, and basically got to the point where i grew out of my trainers schooling horses and did not have money in high school to invest in a pony/horse of my own so i stopped, pursued other interests, etc. speed along past high school & college. i am now a nurse in a busy field, married, and had a rather traumatic experience r/t pregnancy in which the end result was traumatic. my husband got me riding lessons to try and help me feel re-connected to things i once enjoyed and it is working, i am absolutely in love with the sport again!

I’ve read a few of the other posts people in similar situations have made, so its interesting to see that i’m not totally alone !
but, i am struggling because my inherent perfectionist tendencies. believe me, i know i have flaws! as I’ve learned by my lessons, my brain remembers exactly what to tell my body to do for the most part (except for some here and there refreshers that i am thankful to have a trainer for!) but my poor body is lacking obvious muscle and core strength. i know with time this will come back but it is frustrating.

to any re-riders who got back in the game, what helped you progress and regain your equitation and skills?

i lesson once a week including jumping (my first lesson back on i jumped 3 feet!) plus my trainer is allowing me to hack as well, usually on days of the week she is not there to work on my flat work (obviously just cannot jump) which is enormously helpful and leaves me sore and smiling. but to be honest its not enough for me, i want more!