Unlimited access >

Another victory for possibly the worlds greatest trainer (not ME!)

In my last post about Bob my new horse of 90 days, I was dismayed that although Bob self loaded perfectly the first 20 times I loaded him, the one time it was important that he immediately load (off to his second fox hunt), he wouldn’t. Although I eased him into the trailer eventually --I resolved to correct the situation (he was also reluctant to load coming home).

To that end I watched 3 hours of videos after the hunt on how to load a horse.

The next day, without any hesitation, Bob loaded perfectly. And he loaded perfectly (self load) every day after that for the next week as we practiced every day. Clearly I was a great trainer!!

Until he didn’t.

Of course I was pressed for time, going to my trainer/instructor and suddenly: Bob. Wouldn’t. Load.

Although I did eventually convince him to load, it took way too much time. And he was also sticky to load coming back from her farm. Grrrrr.

Although Bob would GET IN the trailer after many tries, he’d shoot back before I could fasten the butt bar. I rarely have help loading/unloading.

So another week of practice --but --I cheated.

My trainer/instructor said: Maybe if he had some food in the front of the trailer, he’d stand long enough for you to put up the butt bar.

Although I abhor bribing a horse to load, the next day after I went to the trainers, I thought, well, let’s try it.

I hung a small bucket in the front of the trailer and put a handful of grain in it.

I got Bob out of his field (he comes to a whistle --I love that). I took him to the trailer and he loaded. First try. Immediately. He found the grain and munched away standing quietly.

I did up the butt bar and slowly walked to the escape door, and gave him another handful.

Back in at the back of the trailer, I undid the butt bar and backed Bob out --he didn’t want to leave his three grains of feed but did back out for me.