Unlimited access >

Anterior Enteritis and colic surgery in a 12 year old Clyde cross mare

Hi all, this is my first time posting though I have “lurked” for some time. I apologize for the long history, I will try to stick to relevant details.

I have a Clyde cross mare who I bought as an 8 year old from a family who was told by the horse trader they bought her from that she was a former PMU mare. This fits as she has a large brand on her shoulder and came to the trader with a rectal-vaginal fistula from an obviously bad foaling. While surgically repaired with good vulva closure, this resulted in about a 40% loss of anal sphincter and she has a pneumorectum now. At this point you are probably wondering why anyone would buy a horse with an issue like this (and I sometimes question myself) but she is a wonderful packer with a sweet, kind heart. She had obviously been through a lot, and long story short, I fell in love with her.

So I knew I would need to monitor her for discomfort with any air sucking, and she has remained relatively comfortable until about the past year. Inititally this began with two minor colics about 6 months apart, lasting less than 12 hours, that were resolved with Banamine iv and some bran mashing and that was that. Her colic symptoms are basically not eating, and some parking out. Her heart rate is the most tell-tale sign we have besides appetite. Her HR for these episodes was around 50. The first one was right after a cold snap and the second one was in the spring 2013. I should add at this point that she is usually on turn-out.