any Deaf riders?

I dunno why I’ve never bothered asking this question before; I am hearing but a part of the Deaf community through a SO and have often been riding with Deaf friends; but I’ve never known another Deaf boarder or lesson student. Anyone here a Deaf equestrian?

Not Deaf, but hard of hearing :wink: Makes for riding with others interesting at times…

Not deaf either, but I worked as an ASL interpreter in Greenville and in Conway, SC (and in Manhattan for a year). Before I went to law school. Like you, I learned to sign from an SO (my late husband).

There’s a deaf COTH’er who posts occasionally. Can’t remember her username exactly - it may be something like DeafRider.

In Greenville? You weren’t too far from SCSDB then (I just stamped two I’s on top of each other–I realized I always sign it and have never had to spell the initials for it haha) Too bad we’re about an hour too far apart! Wish I had more Deaf friends that rode; I can’t imagine it being an issue actually undersaddle but taking lessons would be difficult enough. I did lead a Deaf trail ride once…backwards in the saddle signing, that was an experience.

[QUOTE=irkenequine;5915550]
In Greenville? You weren’t too far from SCSDB then (I just stamped two I’s on top of each other–I realized I always sign it and have never had to spell the initials for it haha) Too bad we’re about an hour too far apart! [/QUOTE]

:lol: I used to go to homecoming at Cedar Springs every year - that was the “hearing” name for it when my contemporaries attended. We’re not so far apart, surely? Camden’s only what? an hour or so from you? Maybe we could meet there for the Camden Hunt’s spring hunter pace. :slight_smile:

Yep! About an hour! Lets plan on that in the future–though my filly’s got a year before she’d even be ready to flat it (although thats my ultimate goal for her.) **Must teach her to neck rein so I can sign and ride.