Any riders/instructors that have had a picc line?

So my chest port got infected, so after 3 months I had to have it taken out ASAP today because an infection in your port can kill you ver fast. Lots of pain later, I now will be off my meds (which until I got the infection were working well) and am having a picc line put in next week. Since it is on the arm I was wondering how/ if anyone on here had dealt with that with working in the stable. Thanks :slight_smile:

Haaaa, Gallent ! I am so sorry for you ! I have no experience with riding and picline; I have a port and thank God no infection in 3 years.

Best of luck and hope someone will answer !

No advice, just cursing your bad luck! Hope you feel better SOON!

I know a friend who golfed was told no golfing until PICC removed. best to ask your doc.

Well I won’t be riding since my DH would probably have a heart attack, but I am hoping that I will still be able to atleast handle the horses and groom them. So I will probably be getting my picc line in this week, we are trying to finish packing our apt to move into the house that is on the same place as the stable, trying to get the house painted because the carpet people are coming on the 18th, of and now of course someone wants to come see my horse that is for sale that just got home from KY that my student has yet to ride (she is exercising him for me) and there are no jumps at the stable, oh and the ground is so so so wet from the week of rain!

[QUOTE=DressageGeek “Ribbon Ho”;4864815]
No advice, just cursing your bad luck! Hope you feel better SOON![/QUOTE]

You and me both!

Hmmm…can I invoke the explosive diarrhea curse on your infected port? Somehow I don’t think it works that way!

geesh… one thing after another.

At some point, the karma wagon DOES have to stop long enough for ya to climb back up on it…

Hope things get easier soon!!

I had a Hickman Line for nearly 2 years. Mine was directly into my heart though.