Unlimited access >

Apparent heart attack

Hi, I’m new to COTH forums.

I just received news that our (otherwise) completely healthy 13 year old gelding died of an apparent heart attack. I am wondering if this is a common thing or if it was something that was preventable. I am extremely torn up about this event. He was a daily lesson horse but I don’t think his work load was very heavy.

Please, any advice is welcome. I am going to be researching heart attacks later. Also, how can a vet know it was a heart attack if he was already gone upon discovery?

:(((

Very very sorry. I had one that had a similar thing. I went to do barn check at night, after they had been out, brought them in, gave dinner, and he was sweating. Not lathered, and not running in his stall, but upset and sweaty. I called vet waiting for callback, took him out of stall, and as weird as it was, he didn’t want to step down on front leg, but no visible damage! Nothing hot or swollen, and would step on it. Put him back in stall, went to get Banamine, because clearly he was distressed, came back and he was dead. I can’t stop thinking about him. I had him buried without necropsy, I was just so upset, and upset how quickly everything appeared to happen.:frowning:

You’ll need a vet to tell you how they can know he died from a heart attack. I’m sure there’s typical signs.

But to answer your question, I did know one that died, apparently in his sleep. Had a PPE that afternoon, rode for vet uneventfully, passed vet and was put away. Had dinner, night check, and found dead in his stall next morning. Looked like he was simply sleeping.

Horse was 3 yrs old. Vet thought aneurism but they never did necropsy, so again, not sure how they determined that vs heart failure.