Unlimited access >

Arabian horse standards for showing

Hi, I am new to showing and have an Arabian gelding I would like to compete with at local shows (Pony Club, 4H, Open Shows). What tack/attire will I need to compete?
Thanks for any assistance you may be able to provide me.

Apologies in advance if you already know this, but you have to be a member of 4H and PC to compete in their shows. PC has it’s own dress code rules that differ a bit from the expectations at rated (USEF) shows. PC’s a little more open minded and gives you more wiggle room in terms of ‘informal attire’ for showing.

Anyway, for showing in hunters, jumpers, or equitation, you will need English tack, preferably an actual jumping saddle. Dark brown is conventional for hunters and eq, but some jumpers do have black. PC won’t care what color your tack is. Hunters and eq use fitted, white fleece pads. Jumpers can have square pads. No running martingales in hunters at rated shows. Schooling shows may allow it and PC, last I heard, definitely allows running martingales in show jumping. Now, PC recently added hunters to their disciplines, so I imagine they might have a rule for those shows, but in regular show jumping it should be fine. PC will have separate rules and such for hunters and show jumping.

Clothing will really depend on where you’re showing. As I said, PC sometimes allows pretty casual clothing. They are not brand obsessed and only really require the minimum. Rated hunters requires coats, show shirt with a wrap around collar, tan/beige breeches, and black field boots. Rated jumpers will differ depending on the class. Some classes you can get away with a polo, others require a coat. Eq requires a very conventional look, so no bling or funky colors. Navy or black coats, white shirts, and tan breeches only. Some H/J schooling shows require coats as well.

P.S. No boots on horses in hunters. Fine for jumpers and eq.