Unlimited access >

Armchair vets: guess the diagnosis

Full disclosure, vet doesn’t come for 10 days so going to list the symptoms, then will list the diagnosis when the vet sees him.

19 year old career 1.30 jumper I purchased 2 1/2 years ago. He immediately went down to a 2’9"-3’3" jumper as I am an eventer, not a 1.30 jumper. No prepurchase was done as I had ridden him for 2 moths and he could turn and burn with the best. Last year he was ridden very tactfully for the last 6 months of the year by the barn owners and did well showing.

I started riding him again mostly dressage with minimal jumping due to weather and the symptoms went like this:

Not wanting to hold a 20 meter canter circle, especially to the left. A lot of diving down. head twisting, better to the right . This had gone from fine in Jan to current list of symptoms.

Stopping 4-6 strides in during a canter and refusing to move forward.

Head slinging straight up in the air with any contact

Rubs head on leg a lot when bridled up (changed bridle from a figure 8 to a regular hunt bridle with an easy snaffle and it was a little bit better)

Will trot lovely and push from behind, nice extended trot and will go in contact then but not the canter.

When asked to go forward once he has stopped and is “done”, will give a small buck or my fav, will rear but can easily sit there for a few seconds in a lovely “elevade”.

Will push from behind in the canter on a lunge line with a little head twisting on the right lead and a lot of head down and neck twisting on the left lead and is reluctant to continue. His hind end is well muscled. No one, including the vet, thinks he is 19.

My thoughts: neck arthritis, cracked tooth (he was floated in Dec) trigeminal neuralgia although he doesn’t head shake, something in the poll. He does not exhibit soreness when palpated down his back thru his SI. There is no swelling or heat anywhere.