ASL and Riding

Hello,
I’m a new poster. I’ve been lurking for a while. I’m a long time instructor. (hunter & lower level dressage) I’m also an ASL interpreter student. There has been alot of interest from my Deaf and HH friends about teaching riding lessons in ASL.

I’m wondering if there are any Deaf or HH riders on the boards here. Any advice would be appreciated. Lessons would be private, I have dependable,experienced school horses. As a rider what would make for a good learning experience? What are some of the things you think or wish an instructor should do differently?

I’m thinking of useing a flashing light or vibrating signal for getting a riders attention.

Any feedback is helpfull . Thank you.

Hi! I am also a new poster. I currently am pursuing a double major with a minor in ASL studies. I have thought about this topic quite frequently. When students come to my school that are Deaf, we have an interpreter that walks around the ring with them as they are participating in the lesson so that at all times they can see and receive instruction from the interpreter. For H/J it’s a little different, though the interpreter is still in the ring. The interpreter obviously translates everything but during the course, she waits until the student is done. Then the student, the interpreter and instructor have a “pow wow” afterwards and discuss what was good and what could have been improved. For HH riders, I have not seen this first hand in my school environment but I have seen this on my local show circuit. The instructor had a com device and the rider had a device that went straight into her ear so that the instructor didn’t have to yell at the rider with the risk that the rider would not hear her. Seemed to work pretty well, the rider won every class :]