At a loss...

I’m not really sure where to begin, or even what I’m looking for - advice, sympathy, a kick in the butt, or what but I’ll take what I can get. I suppose I mostly just need to vent…

I have fibromyalgia (FM), as well as fairly severe anxiety and depression. The later two are mostly under control, but when I get bad flare ups of FM, they come creeping back. And lately, the fibro has been bad.

I’m a recent university graduate and I just got a fabulous new job which I really enjoy - I’m on contract, with the possibility of being hired on long term. I am terrified of my fibro - I’m basically just waiting for it to cost me my job. My employers, while wonderful and understanding, don’t know I have fibro. Telling them, to me, would be like basically giving up the possibility of being hired on long term.

I have two horses - one of whom is leased out, the other who is partboarded - and selling either of them is not an option I want to consider. When I ride, it’s basically the only time I enjoy myself. Well, that or being cuddled in bed with my cats.

My life has become: work, barn and rest. I’m okay with this, but it is wearing on me. Thankfully I have a wonderful barn family so I could not show up for weeks and my horses would be 110% fine. I haven’t been to the barn in a few days because I’ve just been too tired, which is likely a large part of the reason I’m feeling so depressed.

Which brings us to today. Touching anything with my hands feels like I’m having razor’s shoved under my fingernails. The Paresthesia (tingling, numb, burning, awfulness) is off the charts; I could rip my skin off. And everything just hurts - not a lot, just a dull background pain that is constant and wearing.