Unlimited access >

At what age do most FEI/ Olympic Dressage Riders start studying Dressage?

I was just curious about this as I’m a teen - been riding for 8 years - but I’m just starting Dressage, and I’m wondering if (assuming I worked really hard, got really lucky, and somehow found a way to pay for tons of training and a good horse) I’m young enough to plausibly still have a competitive National/ International career - or at least to compete at Grand Prix Level.

What do you guys think?

Background question: When did YOU start riding dressage, and what are your aspirations in the sport?

I can’t answer your title question.
Why don’t you ask whoever you are training with now?

I started riding dressage over 25yrs ago & schooled my OTTB to 3rd Level before I stopped regular lessons & lost interest in competing.
Now I enjoy working with my current horse, who came to me with at least 3rd Level training in his past.
I am working with a trainer so he (horse) & I can get in sync. The recent direction to biomechanics is making both our jobs easier. Less really IS more.

I ride for pleasure and prefer doing clinics to showing.

Yes, you have tons of time to reach any of those goals. Debbie McDonald was 50 when she rode Brentina on our Olympic team. Read about her here: http://www.equestriancoach.com/coach/?tid=10
There are a number of nationally known riders who started dressage in mid-life and are still competing at what I’m sure you will think is an “advanced” age!
It takes a lot of time and dedication, the stars have to align and some good horse(s) have to be with you. And there are also life events that will have to be balanced along the way