avulsion fracture (badly sprained) ankle

I twisted my ankle on Sept 14th. I spent about a week in a boot and then wrapped and taped the ankle. I had a huge show in Oct. that I had prepaid, so of course, I rode for three weeks in Oct and showed as well (pretty much AMA but my Dr. knew that unless it was impossible- I was going to do it!)
:uhoh:

I still have swelling, pain and general discomfort. I had stopped wrapping for a few days, but had to go back to it. I can hardly stand to wear shoes because they rub the ankle ( I wear running shoes for support).I am a teacher so by definition I am on my feet all day.
My question is should I go back to the MD., what would they prescribe that is different than what I am doing (wrapping, supportive shoes, nsaids as needed). Or do I suck it up for a while longer? It seems like the pain over my ankle bone should be gone, I expect some soft tissue tenderness and instability.

Any tips for wrapping and riding? I have to pad the ankle as it hurts to touch the bone. I am still trying to find the best combination of padding and support that will fit into my boots.

It’s a mistake not to follow Dr orders. If you don’t allow the ankle to heal properly and for long enough you put yourself at serious risk for reinjuring it.

The first time I broke my ankle, as soon as I got the cast off I started walking on it right away and skipped the physical therapy. This caused my ligaments to not tighten up contributing to a much more serious ankle fracture less that two years later, which I got simply by taking a wrong step. I had hardware installed to fix it the second time and 6 months later twisted the ankle again and broke 3 bones in my foot. All because I was impatient.

I am from a medical family, so I know better. At this point I am ready to be a good girl, but I am not sure if he would have me do anything differently.