Unlimited access >

Back on track poll cap

Does anyone use one? A couple questions… 1) can you give me the measurements of the one you have - I can’t decide if I’ll need a cob or full and 2) when and why do you use it? Does it help?

thanks

The last time I used a poll guard when travelling a horse was in… 1984… 1985? I don’t think it was necessary even then.

I don’t think she’s talking about a horse helmet but this:

https://www.ridingwarehouse.com/Back_On_Track_Therapeutic_AtlasAxis_Equine_Head_Cap/descpage-BTEHC.html?from=gshop&gclid=Cj0KCQiA8vSOBhCkARIsAGdp6RSWTxZnRyNwlIDjOVlF9nyN7MhWm81yrVZiLc-nGrLyL2vs_HTGnKUaAmGDEALw_wcB

I have no experience with them but know people who do use them. One person swears they help

I think my response still stands! Oh, and I have a bridge for sale.

4 Likes

I use them on the lesson horses I ride.

These horses seem to like the poll cap but do not go on strike if we forget it.

I got the poll cap just in case the horses would like it. What I did not expect is the horses “mental messages” when I wondered if they liked it. I would get little movies in my head of the horse slamming back against the halter hard with the suggestion that they had a type of headache ever since. The BOT poll cap seems to help with this possible (hey, I have no proof) trauma, often from the time they were halter broke as foals.

The first few times I put it on a horse it could be a struggle with me teetering on tiptoe. Now the horses put up with my considerable clumsiness getting it onto their head and patiently wait until I get myself together and get it in the right place. At first, head slinging and being a giraffe, now they wait patiently and stay relaxed while I put it on.

2 Likes

can you measure one for me and tell me which size it is? thanks

super helpful, thank you…

The size of mine is marked as M-L.

Opened up so it is laying flat–
Front–there is some curve, sort of 16" straight across.