Unlimited access >

Back pain/ discouraged

So I’ve always wanted to do more in my riding and go as far as possible. Last year I had 3 pretty bad falls in a single month and I’ve had back pain ever since. Any advice in dealing with this pain? I really don’t want it to interfere with my riding but every time my horse acts up I’m worried I’m going to get hurt again. I used to be really confident when riding and since my back injury I’ve become more timid. I want to overcome it but don’t know how to.

Also I was wondering what your advice would be when feeling discouraged in riding? I recently got a new slightly green mare and she has been a lot of trouble recently. She’s really fussy and although I really enjoy jumping her and the majority of her issues simply need more training, I can’t help but feel discouraged. I feel like I’m not capable of training her even though I have plenty of experience and I have the guidance of my trainer. I know its mind over matter in this situation but that almost makes it harder for me.

What does your doctor say?

1 Like

I’m with Laurierace. What does your Dr say? Do you know what is causing the back pain? Have you had any diagnostics… x-ray, MRI, CT, etc?

Maybe you need to step back from your new green bean and ride a more settled horse until you get your confidence back. IMO, riding in fear is not a good place to be. You’ll be less flexible and more tense waiting for the next bad thing to happen.

Maybe at this time you aren’t capable of training her because of the fear. Does your trainer have something else you could ride for a bit to work on your fear?

1 Like

You might want to read my thread in this Forum, Riders With Health Issues, called “Chronic Pain”, started March 11, 2017.