Unlimited access >

Balancing riding and work! ADVICE NEEDED!!!

I’m currently a college student trying to decide how far I want to take the sport. My goal would be to stay an amateur and do some grand prixs later on in my career. Unfortunately I can barley afford to go to shows as it is, and never have been able to qualify for indoors because I can’t get to enough shows. But I am very hardworking and spend all my free time at the barn and it has paid off by allowing me to competitively compete in the Low AOs.

I know that I can’t afford to do what I really want full time because I have no money behind me. So I will have to get a full time job, I’m thinking something to do with my major of business information technology but I’m also thinking medical device sales. I’m just not sure how I’m going to balance a full time job with trying to compete and further my riding career.

Does anyone know any amateurs that have done this? Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

Most ammies have full time jobs. I used to. It’s all about time management. You’re in college right now; it’s the best time to develop schedule strictness. Stick ti a schedule and you’ll be fine.
As far as competing, that might be a tad more difficult, but create a good working relationship with your boss so in the event you need to dip out early on a Friday, it won’t be grounds for termination. Be up front (after you’ve gotten the job not in the interview!) about your riding and never call out sick for a horse show! Try to find a place that has flexible scheduling so you can come in early to get in all your hours.
Be dedicated and you’ll be fine.

Thank you so much!