Unlimited access >

barn fire prevention thread

The recent posts about barn fires has got me thinking. I am starting to realize that many people are uneducated about fire prevention and potential fire hazards. Perhaps we could use this thread to talk about potential fire hazards, what to watch out for, and good tips on preventing barn fires.

Things like cob webs, lack of fire extinguishers, etc. Everything from seemingly simple things to other things most of us wouldn’t think about.

<BLOCKQUOTE class=“ip-ubbcode-quote”><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Posse977:
I am also a firefighter. My current farm is way at the back of an estate, and there is no way that an engine would be able to get back there. The nearest hydrant (we are lucky enough to have hydrants) is across the street. If there was a fire at my house or barn, it would mean hand jacking hose a minimum of 700’. To top it off, before I started working for the city, no one- neither police not fire- knew that my house/barn existed.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

700’ of line to lay in??? OUCH!!! Could you possibly get old hose from your department that has been taken out of service and an old nozzle? Just an idea but if you get enough hose to lay in a single hand line you can make a cart to store it on up at the barn. Maybe set it up in a minute man load. In an emergency you can drop the minute man load at the top and run the cart from the barn down to where the apparatus will be laying down the line as you go. It would be a quick way to at least get a single hand line up and running until you can lay in more line by hand.

**“You are under arrest for operating your mouth under the influence of ignorance!” MPD Officer Beck
**“Member of the COTH Law Enforcement clique!”
**“Member of the Western clique”

I don’t think cob webs are combustible, but their presence CAN indicate a less clean and well kept (and more dusty) environment.