Unlimited access >

Barn renovation, frost free hydrants?

I recently purchased a farm and am in the process of converting a block barn that was used for cattle to a horse stable. The water line coming in from the house is leaking, and so we will be replacing the line. Question is, what kind of hydrant or pipe is best for inside the barn?

My excavator says frost free hydrants break after 5 years and need to be fixed/replaced. I’m not exactly sure what he is suggesting I do instead.

My general contractor says go with frost free. He’s lived on a farm and has animals, so I’m not sure who’s opinion is best.

This is my first time having horses on my own property. I’ve always boarded prior to this, so I’m trying to learn about all this as we go.

I’m in South east PA.

maybe he should read the installation instructions as the life span of good frost free hydrants is many decades or longer as long as you disconnect hoses so the hydrant can drain as intended

While we are not in the great frozen north country our hydrants here were installed over thirty years ago …none have had to be replaced or even repaired… adjustments have been needed but the hydrants are designed to be adjusted as they age (or after repeated times where the hoses have not been disconnected in freezing conditions)

5 Likes

I’ve had my frost-free hydrant, outside the barn, for at least 10 years now.

Where I rode and boarded for 30 years had theirs at least that long.

I hope your excavator isn’t the one who’s supposed to be putting in that hydrant!

And what does “break” mean? Is he (or whomever) digging shallow trenches and things are freezing and bursting? That’s an installation problem.

2 Likes

I didn’t ask what he meant by “break”. I can ask what he meant and how far down he’d dig.
Also, I didn’t realize leaving a hose on compromises the hydrant. Learning already, thanks!

You really have to have frost free or you’ll end up with frozen pipes.