Unlimited access >

Barn Renovation - Insulation

Hey all - I wanted to get some opinions as we are looking to potentially convert our 60x40x12 post frame building/barn into some stalls for our horses.

We’re in northern Indiana.

Currently the building is 100% metal and framing with no insulation on the walls or roof. We’re thinking about insulation to keep it more temperate in the summer and hold in heat in the winter. Any one have experience with this? Is it worth the cost? What kind of insulation(Spray in, etc.)? Roof only? Walls only? Roof and walls?

Also thinking about throwing in some windows for the stalls to get a little more ventilation in. Horse friendly with bars and such. Any thoughts on if its worth the expense.

Looking forward to hearing everyone’s thoughts.

as much insulation as you can afford! makes such a huge difference in comfort. if the roof is metal, at the least start there.

I am not an expert, but the spray in should be the most rodent/chew proof since it’s hard. Rodent/chew and bird proof-ness would guide my decision. however, i do believe it’s pricier.

i have an insulated roof in Florida (metal roof), and it is not hard insulation. barn is 3 years old, and it’s holding up so far, but I assume eventually birds will get to it.

1 Like

I have the same questions but not a metal building. You can search for the thread. Someone posted here that foam insulation in a building that was not closed up would become a bird mess. Maybe that is why I have never seen it in a horse barn. I am trying to figure out venting in my barn so have put the insulation issue on the back burner for now. However I think I am going to go with some sort of radiant barrier that gets tacked up on the interior ceiling. But then I don’t have a metal building.

1 Like

R-5 with bird block. Personally, if you’re not going to heat, I’d do roof only. The kickwalls etc for the stalls will provide insulation to the walls.