Unlimited access >

Barn/Trainer in Baltimore area

Hi,
I am a med student in Baltimore who rode in the hunters and the junior medals throughout hs. I have only been able to ride sporadically for the past year and a half or so since my horse tragically passed away, and I am looking for a hunter/jumper barn where I can lesson on and possibly show nicer horses without actually owning one. I have run into the typical problem of either contacting trainers who only take clients with their own horse or going to lesson barns where the horses really shouldn’t be doing anything over 2’6" (if that…). I am relatively new to the area and any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Where in Baltimore are you and how far are you willing to travel? Do you live in the city? Just wondering which direction might be easiest for you to travel (ie: up 83 towards the hunt valley area, west towards Howard County, etc.). Kudos to you for wanting to ride in med school - it was one of the things that helped keep me sane!

You are going to have a hard time finding good horses to lesson on and show without paying for a lease, or something like that. Or, you need to luck out and find a horse owned by someone who needs a good rider- this is what happened to me when I started riding again, so it is possible. Your best bet is to find a good trainer to take lessons with in a larger barn with a range of horses and see what your riding skills might get you after you establish yourself.

Before I got my own horse again I rode for a couple different trainers who didn’t have time for everyone in their string, and got the ride on a couple of fun horses. Then I found a really good trainer who had an extremely nice hunter whose owner was no longer interested but didn’t want to sell him, and that guy became my project until I bought my own.

If you can afford a lease of some sort, all of that groundwork is unnecessary, so you might want to think about that, too.