Unlimited access >

Barns near Greenville, SC

Hello Everyone!
I’m going to be moving out to Greenville, SC next year, and I’ll be taking my horse with me. I’m currently on the lookout for some barns that might be good options for my horse and me! I’m looking to compete in the A/O 3’6" Hunters and if that helps with recommendations at all. I’d be looking to compete in local A shows in the spring/summer/fall and I don’t mind a commute! 45 minutes is probably my max. I know there are a few threads out there, but they’re 3 years old so I wanted to start a new one just to see if anything has changed. Thanks so much for your time!!

I’m a dressage rider moving up to that area (about 25 minutes east of Greenville) this summer. I’ll send you a PM of the list I put together. 45 minutes should almost put you to Tryon so you may find some good barns up more towards Landrum, SC.

I highly recommend Clearview Farm, about 35 minutes from the center of Greenville. I used to be a working student for Jeanne. Extremely professional and very good at what they do.

I would stay away from Bramblewood. No matter how nice it looks.

Top Call is a barn often mentioned, the training is good, but I boarded at a barn that looked nicer (with no real hunter trainer) for half the cost. I was going to trailer in for lessons until I got injured.

Unfortunately I found the horse scene to be horrible down there. It’s mostly western pleasure based. You have to go to Tryon or Aiken for serious shows and barns.

I did go see a bunch of barns about 3 years ago when I lived there and wasn’t impressed with any of them.

If anyone also knows any place close to Clemson University, that would be great!
I can do somewhere private. I have seen Stoneridge… not the place for my old fat hunter.