Unlimited access >

Barrel horse prospect?

Hi all. I’m a semi pro level english rider interested in making up a barrel horse for myself. I’m knowledgeable about confirmation specific to the sport horse/warmblood dominated disciplines, and what would lend itself to general soundness and athleticism. But is looks, to me, like there are some different preferences for western horses.

I understand that is a gross generalization. With so many different “sports” in the western world, what are you looking for in a gymkhana horse specifically? Bonus points if you can talk about what might be different from the uphill balance, sloping shoulder, and long leg to body ratio considered desirable in the sport horse world. Book recommendations also very welcome! I’m 40, so looking to bring along something with real potential, not just to run fast without a plan. Next post I’ll be asking how to train this beast! :grin:

Welcome.

How to choose a barrel horse and train your own without having barrel raced previously, is that your question?
If so, being an English rider, think what you would answer to a semi-pro barrel racer that asked what should be a good jumping prospect to train yourself for someone that has not jumped before.

Given those premises, I would say, get someone that is competing in whatever you are interested in, giving clinics and teaching and learn from them would seem best.
No sense in reiventing the wheel all by yourself and not fair for whatever horse ended up being a hapless test pilot for that beginner in that discipline.

if the question was not as above, but looking for an instructor or recommendations for a good one, indicating what part of the country would help direct you to one.

There are some posters that are active barrel racing.
Maybe they will have a better answer for you, @beau159 one of them, I think.

7 Likes

Totally agree with what Bluey said. This is a case of you don’t know HOW MUCH you don’t know in regards to Barrel Racing.