Unlimited access >

Being Pulled to Jumps - Please Help!

Hello,

I am an adult amateur intermediate level rider, and I have a super cool draft/QH cross that I use for dressage and low level (2’ to 2’6") jumping/eventing. We ride in a loose ring snaffle.

The only problem is he has started to pull me to jumps when we’re cantering. He holds a nice lovely canter to about 2 strides out, then rushes the last two strides and doesn’t listen to my half halts. It makes me nervous and I tend to loose my position. Fortunately he is not a stopper.

We went back to the basics as soon as we started having this issue. He is lovely and supple on the flat, listening to half halts and leg pressure. We do grid work all the time, and he’s a complete gentleman. He is fine if there are lots of ground positioning poles. We could trot jumps all day and have no issue. We only seem to have problems when we’re cantering towards a single jump without placement poles. He is also bad through lines (2 strides to 5 strides). He’ll trot into the first one ok, but then drag me at the canter to the second one.

Please help! Any exercises or training advice would be a huge help. I do have a trainer, and she suggests more grid and transition work, which we’ll certainly keep at, but I just wanted to see if anyone else out there had any advice.

I really don’t want to move to a harsher bit if at all possible.

Lots and lots of pole work, cantering down stopping him, backing him up, graduating to putting the poles off the ground, figure of 8’s over raised poles. Engaging his brain so that he doesn’t think about rushing.
Are you tensing up now that you are waiting for him to rush? Remember whats in the brain goes down the rein so you need to be relaxed also.
If he still insists on rushing don’t fight him, give him his head and make his own life difficult for him, it might not be pretty but he might realize its not worth being a moron if he gets himself into trouble when he rushes.