Unlimited access >

Best ground excercises for establishing dominance?

I recently bought a mare and we are battling it out over who is in charge. Right now she is for sure because I’m very new to the horse scene. What are some ground work excercises I can do with her to show her who is boss? Any other suggestions on establishing my dominance over her? I have a 4 year old who is constantly around so I want the mare to be on her best behavior and not decide to test me with something around my daughter.

My best exercise would be to work closely with a qualified trainer, and keep small children at a safe (far away) distance outside the work area while training with your horse. That is an injury waiting to happen.

Excellent advice. No book can teach you to read a horse, and being able to read a horse is very important to ground work. You are not looking to achieve “dominance”, but cooperation.

Four year olds do not under any circumstances belong around barns, and large animal, and even some so-called small animals without active and constantly aware & available supervision.

You don’t “establish dominance” over a horse. The model of dominance that people love to talk about doesn’t even apply to wolves, much less horses. Trying to “establish dominance” over a horse is likely to put you in the hospital. I’ve seen it happen to people before.

What you should do is find a qualified trainer who truly understands the nature of horses, and knows how to work with the horse to set boundaries to keep everyone (including the horse) safe, happy, and healthy. And in the meanwhile you should take lessons from a good instructor on a well-schooled horse to learn timing and feel, both on the ground and in the saddle. And keep any small children at a safe distance.

I’d get a sitter if at all possible in the beginning to you can focus solely on your horse.