Unlimited access >

Best jump saddle for rider with lower back pain?

I suffer from mild scoliosis and spondylosis and in the last few years, my lower back has become increasingly sore when I ride in my jump saddle. I do better with my dressage saddle, but I would like to get back into jumping again and was hoping someone here would have some suggestions on saddles. It seems to me that the wider and more flat seats don’t aggravate my back as much, but I am hesitant to shell out a ton of money on a new saddle in case it doesn’t work. Has anyone else dealt with this and if so, what saddle did you find that worked for you?

For me, of the balance of the saddle isn’t right, my back suffers. I recently started riding my new horse in my Voltaire, which was so much better than the Crosby I borrowed while my horse lost weight. The Voltaire rep checked the fit and suggested I add a lift pad to the rear of the saddle, and it made a huge difference. So maybe check that the cantle sits a touch higher than the pommel.

One other idea is to try a saddle that shares some similarities with your dressage saddle, like has a deeper seat.

I don’t have any diagnosed back issues like you do, just a sensitive lower back. I have to stretch every morning before I do anything. But riding in a more balanced and cushy saddle definitely helps.

1 Like

I’d try a half size bigger seat than your current jump saddle

1 Like

Not to be a smartass here, but yes I did, and the one that worked for me is the one that actually fit both my body and my horse’s body. Both those variables will be different for you, so there’s no use telling you what worked for me. :slight_smile: Yes, it did work.

A couple of variables that might impact the way you use your back in the saddle:

• width of the twist. This changes the angle at which the top of your femur meets your hip. For some people, a twist that is too wide or too narrow for your body can put pressure on the low back.