Unlimited access >

Best place to live on the West Coast with horses

Hello everyone, I’m looking for advice on where to move in the next year or two. I originally grew up near Medford Oregon and really liked the climate, but it was a little too small town and hillbilly for me. I’m currently living in Anchorage and I absolutely love the atmosphere here. The people are nice, the hiking and riding trails are incredible, and it’s a nice big city with a small town feel. Problem is, it’s almost impossible to have horses around here because it’s so expensive. One barn was offering full care board for $800 a month! That’s more than I pay for rent! My hope is to find a place on the west coast (my family is in Oregon) where I can find inexpensive pasture board, there are lots of trails for riding and hiking, and a large city is fairly close by. I’m a veterinary technician so I can work anywhere, but I would prefer somewhere that has an emergency clinic which is my specialty. Lastly, and probably the most difficult is to find somewhere that isn’t covered in mud most of the year. I was looking at Bend, but it gets even less rain than Anchorage which is pretty dry. I don’t want to spend my whole paycheck on irrigation. Is there something in between 10" in eastern Oregon and 40" in western Oregon? Thank you in advance!

Are you thinking of Pacific NW or California? Are you interested in being maybe one state east of the actual West Coast? (A friend recently moved to Idaho & loves it.)

I live in California, which is a pretty horsey state. The coastal area is very expensive, the central area is less expensive, but you can’t always see through the air. The farther south you go, the more difficult it is to find affordable boarding, or any decent boarding at all because land is so expensive.

You may want to see how you like northern California.

“One barn was offering full care board for $800 a month!That’s more than I pay for rent!”