Unlimited access >

Best Saddles for XC / Jumping Phases?

I’m on the lookout for a saddle I can use for Cross Country and Stadium, after I found out my position-over-fences problems were caused primarily by my A/P saddle. (Rode in a saddle I had on trial and suddenly my position was solid, even over large and awkward fences. Sent it back because it fit my horse kind of funny)

Anybody have recommendations? I’ve been on the lookout but a lot of the saddles I like the look/price of have gotten negative reviews from eventers. I’m a college student living with my parents who support my riding habit, so I can’t spend a huge sum on a saddle. No $3k or more saddles for me. (And I’m totally happy buying used)

Well, with everything in the horse world, it depends. What works well for me (a County Conquest with a high, extra forward flap and minimal blocks) won’t necessarily work for you.

What’s YOUR conformation like? Short leg? Long leg? Long femur? Are you tall? Short? Fluffy? Skinny? Do you prefer lots of blocks and rolls, or are you a minimalist, like me?

[QUOTE=CruisingAlong;7063575]
I’m on the lookout for a saddle I can use for Cross Country and Stadium, after I found out my position-over-fences problems were caused primarily by my A/P saddle. (Rode in a saddle I had on trial and suddenly my position was solid, even over large and awkward fences. Sent it back because it fit my horse kind of funny)

Anybody have recommendations? I’ve been on the lookout but a lot of the saddles I like the look/price of have gotten negative reviews from eventers. I’m a college student living with my parents who support my riding habit, so I can’t spend a huge sum on a saddle. No $3k or more saddles for me. (And I’m totally happy buying used)[/QUOTE]