Unlimited access >

Best summer riding breech

It gets over 100 where I live in the summer time, and my breeches are way too heavy. Does anyone have suggestions for light weight knee patch breeches? Less expensive are better, and no pull ons or tights please! So far I have had luck with the kerrits cross over breech, but all other pants I have tried have been too hot.
Has anyone tried the equine couture breeches; are they good for hot weather?

I used to like DevonAire Versailles a lot. Very lightweight, they zip up, and they have a pocket.

But since I started riding western I wear shorts and cowboy boots. :smiley: Canā€™t wait to show up at my hunter barn in them. :lol: Luckily I ride in the early morning so maybe there wonā€™t be too much pearl-clutching and fainting at the sight.

1 Like

The best breech for steamy summer riding? Whichever doesnā€™t show noticeable crotch/heiny sweat. For me, thatā€™s black leggings bought el cheapo at walmart or target with tall boots for riding and switch to barn shoes for chores. Iā€™ll give you fair warning, the cheapo leggings do tend to wear out in the thigh seam from riding friction. Small price to pay, tho, for thin cool fabric, no crotch sweat marks, and remarkably good price point.

I like Riding Sport ā€œEssentialsā€. They are zip breeches but light weight and comfy to me. They are mostly cotton so can absorb sweat but are also breathable and will conform to your body. Some polyester blends donā€™t absorb well and arenā€™t as comfortable for me, but some other ā€œhigh tech blendsā€ are very lightweight and great, but expensive. Essentials are also pretty cheap.

FITS are comfy and non-sweaty.

Devon-Aire Versailles and their All Pro line. I live in the All Pro ribbed. They are high tech, moisture wicking and so light weight!