Unlimited access >

Best Truck to Pull a 4 Horse Center Load

Hello! It is my first time posting here, but for a long time I have checked in for advice and thought this would be the perfect opportunity to get everyone’s opinions!

I am finally biting the proverbial bullet and buying a truck and trailer set up as I have 4 horses that show at least 3 weekends a month. I have pretty much decided on a four horse center load head to head trailer, but obviously need to buy a truck that would comfortably (and more importantly safely) pull the trailer fully occupied with horses and tack/trunks.

When it comes to my horses safety I would obviously rather be over cautious and get something that is overly qualified for the job. To make a long story short, any suggestions on trucks? Any advice, experiences, or warnings would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Folks around here typically tow 4h-HtH with 3/4 ton trucks, including the barn I board at. Since they tow rarely, their truck is a gas engine Chevy, but for frequent use, a Diesel might be the better choice.

I’ve towed the 4h head to head with a single wheel one ton and a dually. I really disliked pulling a fully loaded one with my friends 2013 Chevy 2500 gas. That’s what she hauls with, but I prefer my 1 ton diesel.

I have an older Ford, but I would hands down buy a new Dodge or Chevy. I have driven both and am heart set on a new Dodge when the Ford kicks the bucket. I will never buy another Ford, especially not a newer one.

I’ve got a 2+1 hawk which my one ton diesel dually doesn’t even know is there, and just completed a trip from Texas to Vermont hauling a 13000 fifth wheel camper with it.
It’s a 2001 and my understanding is the newer trucks are even beefier.
I’m a Ford girl and will never go back to a gas engine for towing.