Unlimited access >

Better balance for sitting a spook?

Are there any exercises I can do to improve my balance for those sudden moments when my horse bolts in another direction? When I was young I used to be able to sit anything, but now I feel like I fall off ALL. THE. TIME. I’ve been told I have a good seat but when a horse suddenly spooks and runs in the opposite direction I come crashing to the ground before I even realize what happened.

I’ve fallen off 3 times in a less than a year from spooks and I feel like I never learn to do better next time. Any advice for me?

2 Likes

I’m a yoga teacher with an interest in rider/horse biomechanics. One thing I observe frequently in hunter riders especially is uneven sitz bones and a tendency to collapse into one hip (usually the left). I’ve even watched pros doing it. And they seem not to realize they’re doing it. My theory is that it is more common in hunters because the light hunter seat with heels down tends to put a lot of pressure on the hip flexors & quads over time.

I like to do exercises that build both strength & mobility & teach the rider to become aware of sending energy in all different directions. It’s a lot easier to sit a spook when you’re so used to balancing up/down & left/right that it is part of your unconscious muscle memory.

16 Likes

All. Of. This.

Strength training in asymmetrical ways is incredible for building balance and body awareness, as well as evening out inherent asymmetries, as well as the obvious strength gains.

3 Likes