Unlimited access >

Beware: Horse Electrocuted by Automatic Waterer

I work as an equine appraiser & equine expert witness. After being called recently by an insurance company to do a death-claim reimbursement for yet another horse electrocuted by an automatic waterer, I felt it was time to share this information with horse owners.

The Chronicle of the Horse just published my article on the subject. I wrote this article in collaboration with my husband, who is a licensed electrician. I’m hoping this information will help educate horse owners and save at least one equine life.

10 Likes

Thanks for this PSA @Daventry. And thanks for your good work!

2 Likes

I read this article. Scared the beegeezus out of me. So, thanks. I think :grinning:

2 Likes

:scream: Well, that was a horrific read.
@Daventry thanks for your expertise.

I have heated 5gal flatback buckets in my stalls & a sinking de-icer in the 50gal barrel trough in front of the barn. All have GFI plugs.
Horses are drinking from all, so I have to assume the wiring is intact.
Buckets are 16yo, de-icer 10+.

But the de-icer is falling apart, I thought it might not function this Winter, but it did.
The barrel it sits in is the favored drinking spot.
Still, the business end is so corrupted with rust, I may use my TSC Friends & Neighbors discount to replace it ASAP.

1 Like

I do not remember this, but when I was a toddler, we had a pony out with our cattle (a giant herd of maybe 6). My mother says I was playing near the trough (most likely an old bathtub), pony came along and went to get a drink & was knocked to his knees by a short. So he probably saved me, inadvertently, as I often splashed around the water.

Of course, for the next 14 years he made up for it by trying to kill me in various creative ways.

6 Likes

This is priceless! :laughing: :laughing: