Unlimited access >

Beware: Horse Electrocuted by Automatic Waterer

I work as an equine appraiser & equine expert witness. After being called recently by an insurance company to do a death-claim reimbursement for yet another horse electrocuted by an automatic waterer, I felt it was time to share this information with horse owners.

The Chronicle of the Horse just published my article on the subject. I wrote this article in collaboration with my husband, who is a licensed electrician. I’m hoping this information will help educate horse owners and save at least one equine life.

9 Likes

I was an expert witness for the manufacturers regarding injuries associated with electrical automated access control equipment. When determining fault or degree of fault there would be a review of just how the installation was done and what was the source of the problem …faulty equipment or faulty installation.

I wonder if the insurance carries you represent go back after either the installer of the equipment or the manufacturer to recover their loss?

I don’t believe so. I think the insurance companies simply cut their losses and move on…but I could be totally wrong on that.

Here is the catch with automatic waterers and electrical permits…at least, this is how it works in Canada. An electrical permit is only required on a NEW install of an automatic waterer. For example, if you were to purchased a farm that already has an existing waterer on site, there is a good faith assumption that it was installed and hooked up properly. As a result, insurance companies normally do not deny claims involving waterers that were already on the property when the owner moved in.