Unlimited access >

Blinded by Love: To Buy or Not To Buy?

Hey y’all,

I need a second (and third, and fourth…) opinion on a horse I’m looking at. I started riding this boy about a month and a half ago for my horsemanship class, and I’ve absolutely fallen in love with him. He has the sweetest personality, and he’s an absolute pleasure to ride. My college is willing to sell him to me at the end of the semester, but they won’t let him go for anything less than $2,500. Ordinarily, I wouldn’t hesitate to make an offer, but I’m concerned about his feet. He is a 4 year old QH gelding, and already he has very deep splits in his front hooves. He has front shoes on, and is perfectly sound now, but I’m concerned that his feet could cost me a lot of money in the future. I don’t intend to do anything particularly difficult with him; I don’t see myself jumping him over 3’. I just want to make sure I make the right decision! Any and all comments are appreciated.:slight_smile:

Thanks,
Laura

Get a thorough PPE done and really listen to what the vet says would be my best advice. Be willing to walk away based on the results.
Sheilah

[QUOTE=IdahoRider;7434178]
Get a thorough PPE done and really listen to what the vet says would be my best advice. Be willing to walk away based on the results.
Sheilah[/QUOTE]

I second this and would also add to have a conversation with his farrier as well. If it seems like his feet will be manageable, perhaps you an use that to your advantage and make a counter offer.

I’d first talk to the farrier, then decide how to procede from there.

Thank you everyone, I have my farrier coming to check him out for me next week. Someone recommended that I have x-rays done for navicular, any thoughts on that?

[QUOTE=lalalaura107;7434257]
Someone recommended that I have x-rays done for navicular, any thoughts on that?[/QUOTE]
Yes, yes & yes!

Absolutely xray those feet, if nothing else to see what the cracks look like on the inside.