Unlimited access >

Bloodline Analysis of New Horse? (OTTB)

Hi! I just bought my new mount and would love to know what people think of his bloodlines, just for fun. Hoping to do mid-level eventing before likely moving into just dressage (because my eyes won’t stop dying on me, not because I will have fallen out of love with jumping, fun times). His jockey club name is Spanish Soul.

https://www.pedigreequery.com/spanish+soul2

1 Like

I am no expert at all but I like his bloodlines.

Can you post a picture of him?

1 Like

Here he is!

10 Likes

Maudlin ended up local to me. He sired some pretty hunter types (after their racing careers).

Can’t comment on his pedigree, but gosh he’s cute!! Love his face, hate what someone did to his forelock. At least he won’t have a little wisp of a forelock like my TB, haha.

I’d get those hind feet angles checked out with lateral rads and a good farrier - they look negative to me (very common in TB) and you want to remedy that quickly.

Lovely guy, enjoy him!!

1 Like

Nice pedigree for sport. Nothing you don’t want to see, the page reads to me like a second career in eventng would come naturally to him.

No experience with Soldat but eventers love the War Fronts, typically saw them represented by big bays with great canters/gallop for XC. Forty Niner, Rubiano, and Coronado’s Quest all were well known for event types - Forty Niner in particular had several long format horses, though their name escapes me (a common theme this AM, it seems).

Someone here has a Spanish Steps horse, I can’t remember who, but it was a regular poster who swore by that stallion’s ability to pass on good dressage movement. If I’m remembering correctly, the horse was quite nice and had a natural rhythm.

Nice double to Round Table and Dr Fager. Two more names eventers swear by for grit and jump.