Unlimited access >

Boarding in the DMV

Hi there! I’m new to this website so forgive me if I do anything wrong :slight_smile:

Ive been riding/working with horses since I was 8, and and have gotten heavily involved in therapy using horse’s. I’m soon adopting a mini mare that I can hopefully use as a therapy horse for others.

Im searching for a stable in the DC-Maryland-Virginia area. I live in Bethesda and am willing to travel as far as an hour away. I would prefer a private farm as I know there can be more focused attention there. I would also heavily prefer field boarding. Any type of care (self care, shared care, full care) is fine. I’ve found a few places for 195 a month to even 100 a month, but I’m still searching.

Im a student so my budget is limited. I would be willing to pay up to 300 a month. I have all of the supplies for her, and will be buying her the minute I find a good barn!

Any advice is appreciated :slight_smile:

edit: it doesn’t have to be a barn for just minis!

Rather than buying, there are some wonderful, wonderful equine assisted therapy programs in the DC Metro area. A good friend who came to do her graduate work worked at one that was especially close in in Virginia. You might consider checking these out and save the very real hassles (and expenses!) of horse ownership until after you finish school and get settled.

6 Likes

I hate to disappoint but a private farm is no guarantee of better care, there are plenty of threads here about how private boarding has gone bad. Personally I would be looking for a boarding facility that is equipped to take care of and house a mini.

Self care can be a pita if it is the middle of winter and snow closed roads prevent you from getting to your horse. A mini living in the field might find it tough in the winter too if you can’t get there to check on her daily.

How are you going to use your mini for therapy? Do you have a the ability to haul her to patients?