Unlimited access >

Boot Sales Rep

I almost posted this on the Dressage page but I wanted to see if I could get more people here.

Background: I work a FT desk job that is a strict 8-5 M-F, which is a first for me! I recently moved back to AZ and created a business plan for being a saddle fitter as a side gig (with the possibility of it becoming a FT gig). However, after just buying a house I can’t cough up the money and time for adequate training right now (~$15K). My new job is my first one not in the equine industry and I’d like to stay connected to the horse community and make some extra money to pay for clinics and fun horse things.

I saw on FB that a boot company was looking for a sales rep in AZ and I’ve been in contact with the owner about specifics. The start-up costs are lower (a few thousand) and it’s 100% commission based. I like that I do have a FT job so I won’t be desperate to get people to buy boots so I can eat that week. Also, I’ve been a professional in the dressage industry for geez…15 years?!? With that experience there is a level of professionalism and maturity that some younger sales reps may lack. Nothing is set in stone at this time but I’m just gathering as much information as I can.

Are there any current or former boot reps among us that can offer some input on profits/lifestyle/pinch points?

Riders: are you more likely to buy custom boots on-line, at a show, at a pop-up event (barn, tack store), or just not at all?

General thoughts?

I would love to be able to go to an expert who could, guaranteed, fit me in a pair of tall boots, be it custom. semi-custom, or off the shelf.

I’m reluctant to order custom boots online because I’ve heard so many horror stories. But, if there was a boot maker rep who would guarantee the product and their measurements - including handling my personal fitting issues - I would definitely be interested.